Christmas Tree Brownies

So I was assigned a Christmas treats mission from GastroPost Vancouver using products that Walmart Canada had sent me. I was ready for the challenge!

I received a box of brownie mix and wine gums.

image

Hmm what to make …. Thinking cap activated! That’s it Christmas tree brownies with icing and wine gums as “ornaments” 😃🎄

image

These are the items I used for the icing. Extra virgin coconut oil, organic icing sugar, organic pure vanilla extract and some Almond Breeze, the silver balls were for later 😊

image

Made my icing which I added to much almond milk so was not as thick as I wanted it but still taste OK. Chopped the wine gums into little bits, snapped the candy canes in half and removed the tops. Time to frost!

image

I wish my icing was thicker but I couldn’t correct it because I ran out of icing sugar. They taste amazing that’s all that really matters right!

image

image

Here is the recipe!

Christmas Tree Brownies 🎄

Brownies:

1 Box of Great Value brownie mix from WalMart Canada – follow box instructions (I used melted coconut oil in place of vegetable oil and used a 9×13” pan). Let cool completely before slicing. Slice into triangle shapes one cooled (you will have excess on the ends). I used a pizza cutter.

Icing:

•¼ Cup extra virgin coconut oil (or use butter if desired)
•2 Cups packed organic icing sugar
•1 tsp pure vanilla extract
•2-4 Tbsp almond milk

Method:

Cream coconut oil until smooth and no clumps this is very important you don’t want clumps. Add icing sugar slowly ¼ cup at a time, add vanilla and start with 2 Tbsp milk, add more until you get desired consistency. Place in fridge while you prepare your toppings.

Toppings:

•Wine gums, cut into little pieces
•Green sprinkles
•Gold and silver baking balls
•Candy canes for stems (tops removed, cut in half)

Frosting/Decorating:

Using a piping bag or cut corner of a Ziploc bag pipe icing onto triangle shaped brownies starting with the bottom and working towards the top. Arrange toppings as desired. Place candy canes in bottoms as stems. Serves 16.

image

Happy Holidays! 🎄🎅

Leave a Reply

